Other Links

Contact Us

General Information:

Address: No.18,Bei San Huan
Dong Lu,Chaoyang
Dist,Beijing,P.R.China, 100013



NIM young metrologist Wu Jinjie won APMP award

September 19-27, the 30th General Assembly and Related Activities of Asia Pacific Metrology Program (APMP) was held in Daejeon, Korea. Dr. Wu Jinjie from the National Institute of Metrology, China (NIM) was presented with the APMP IIZUKA Young Metrologist Prize of the year 2014 for his contribution to metrology capacity development in both China and the Asia Pacific region.

Dr. Wu Jinjie has devoted himself to X-ray metrology since he joined NIM in 2008. He has played a leading role in several capacity building projects and has established 2 national primary standards and 1 secondary standard of air kerma in X-ray. Wu has designed and established the first Hard X-ray ground-calibration facility for Hard X-ray Modulation Telescope satellite in China. As the first contributor to some of the projects, Wu has received many other honors, including the First Prize of Science and Technology Progress Award of the Chinese Society of Measurement (CSM) and the Third Prize of Technology Progress Award of General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the P.R. China (AQSIQ).

This year, Dr. Wu Jinjie ranked the first among the all 5 nominees for the Prize.

The APMP IIZUKA Young Metrologist Prize, formerly known as the IIZUKA Prize, is named after its founder, Dr, Kozo Iizuka, former Director General of the Agency of Industrial Science and Techonology (AIST), Japan. It is now funded by APMP and is awarded to scientists under 40 years of age, who has made remarkable achievements in metrology research and/or has made outstanding contributions to the development of measurement capacity of an economy or the Asia Pacific region. The Prize is given to no more than 2 young scientists every year, and one individual can only receive the Prize once.

In recent years, NIM has made great effort in becoming an active and strong member of the regional and global metrology family. At present, there are a total of 5 Iizuka Prize recipients coming from NIM, namely Dr. Lin Pingwei, Dr. Yan Xiaoke, Dr. Zhang Jiangtao, Dr. Lin Hong and Dr. Wu Jinjie, of the year 2005, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2014, respectively. (Chen Hanghang, chenhh@nim.ac.cn